The Stuck Stops Here

Okay, I admit it.  I’m stuck.

Worse yet, I’m stuck at the beginning.

Stuck after 1,000 words.

And I have to throw out two or three hundred of those.

Do you have any idea how frustrating it is to have an entire novel log-jam in your head?  Of course you do.  Do you ever get stuck and think, “Oh.  My.  God.  It’s all over.  My life is over!  I will never write again!”?  (Or wonder if you got the punctuation right when you typed that out?)

At this rate, Mind Games should hit Amazon somewhere around March 31, 2021.  I’ll be a big celebrity at the home.

Well, I’m not putting up with it.  The stuck stops here.  I’m breaking out all my patented block-busters.

  • Free writing.  We’re talking colored markers, people.  (“Made with Recycled Plastic and Preferred by Teachers!”)  Stream-of-consciousness word doodles scattered randomly across cheap drawing paper.  NO LINES.  Think technicolor word cloud.  Think word association.  Word play.  Word up.  My word!

This is how I turn off the editor.  Tell the perfectionist nag-ette, the critic on my shoulder, to put a sock in it.  Abandon linear thinking all ye who enter here!  IMAGINATION UNCHAINED!

Or, as I like to say, “Laissez les bon mots rouler!”

Other block-busters include:

  • Walks with my dog, Molly
  • Hot baths with good reads
  • A few minutes of yoga (or what passes for yoga around here)
  • A glass (or three) of Llano Sweet Red
  • Writing blog posts

Might take a couple days, but inspiration, here I come!  At least, that’s how it usually works.

Better than beating my head against the wall like I’ve been doing.

So, to quote Daffy Duck, “Yoiks, and away!”

Onward through the fog!

Excelsior!

And thank God for caffeine.

5 thoughts on “The Stuck Stops Here

  1. Laura Rose

    I enjoyed what you wrote about yourself, that I just had to find out more about you. And, of course, Amanda! More to follow….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

